Skip To Main Content

Select a School

MPS announces two National Merit Scholarship winners

MPS announces two National Merit Scholarship winners

MPS seniors August Fischer (Edison High School) and Zachary Matlock (Washburn High School) are 2024 National Merit Scholars and will receive $2,500 scholarship awards.

The two seniors were selected from more than 15,000 finalists across the country. National Merit Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have “the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.”

Fischer is planning to study mechanical engineering and robotics.

“The Edison community is incredibly proud of Gus’s much-deserved achievement,” said Edison Principal Eryn Warne. “This honor is a testament to his intellect, passion, curiosity, work ethic and positive contributions to his peers and school community.”

Matlock is planning to attend the honors program at the University of Oregon. While he plans to pursue medicine eventually, he is currently undecided about his major.

“Zach is an outstanding student who regularly pushes himself outside his comfort zone to connect with different people, start new activities and learn as much as he can,” said Washburn Principal Emily Palmer. “His involvement in Model UN, Youth in Government, soccer and debate show the breadth of his interests. I have no doubt he will be successful in whatever he pursues.”