Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Engagement & External Relations

The Office of Engagement & External Relations builds the capacity of MPS schools, staff, families, students and the community to establish partnerships that strengthen student learning and improve schools.

Our office includes our network of family liaisons, who facilitate communication between schools and families, and staff at MPS family resource centers, where information on services and programs supporting parenting and family assistance is provided.

Parent Advisory Councils

Parent Academy: CPEO

Site Councils

Family Resource Center

Tyrize Cox
Executive Director, Engagement & External Relations
tyrize.cox@mpls.k12.mn.us

Edgar Alfonzo
Director, Family Engagement
612-347-3082
edgar.alfonzo@mpls.k12.mn.us

Shakur Ali
Engagement, Education, and Outreach Specialist
CPEO Coordinator
shakur.ali@mpls.k12.mn.us

Fanny Newton
Engagement, Education, and Outreach Specialist
612-806-7286
fanny.newton@mpls.k12.mn.us

Ahmed Keynan
Engagement, Education & Outreach Specialist
612-479-1007
ahmed.keynan@mpls.k12.mn.us

Tikonwaun Blackamore
Engagement, Education & Outreach Specialist
612-895-0101
tikonwaun.blackamore@mpls.k12.mn.us

Yee Yang
Engagement, Education & Outreach Specialist
612-668-0062
yee.yang1@mpls.k12.mn.us

Sharifa Urey
Project Coordinator
612-668-0128
sharifa.urey@mpls.k12.mn.us